The Shepherd’s Guide is a book illustrating and describing the sheep marks used for sheep turned out onto the moors to graze, to identify who they belong to. The marks consist of paint marks on the wool, ear marks [bits cut off!] and hornburns of initials. The Discover Dallowgill History Project has a copy of the 1913 edition, which is available at meetings. The following files give the information sorted by various criteria and as a result, supply a list of who was at each farm in 1913.
Click on the links:
Book page DALLOWGILL SHEEP MARKS 1913 book.pdf
Farmer a-z DALLOWGILL SHEEP MARKS 1913 farms a-z.pdf